Question 10 in 100 Insurance Questions in 100 Days
Turn in your New York State license plates
For every single day that you hold on to your New York State license plates and do not have insurance coverage on those plates, then it’s $8 per day for the first 30 days that you will then have to pay as a fine to the DMV. After that, from 31 to 60 days, the fine increases to $10, and then from 61 days to 90, the fine is $12 a day. Click here for getting it directly from the horse’s mouth.
If you wish to not pay that fee, what you would have to do is both turn in the plates and your license for the same number of days in which you held onto the plates without any liability coverage through your insurance company.
It’s wise to always make sure that before you take off the insurance, you have turned in the plates, or you could find out a number of months down the road that the DMV has a fine and they have also suspended your license or your registration or both.
Don’t let yourself fall victim to this. Always make sure that you receive what is called an FS-6 form or a plate surrender receipt, call your agent, turn that in, and then have the car removed. It can always be removed retroactively back to the date on which you turned in the plates.
If this was helpful, we’ve got 99 other answers that you might like!